Adults

My Account

Support Us

 

 

instagram-mono
twitter-mono
Louisburg Library Logo Full Color fanned out teardrop shapes

 

  • CHECK IT OUT
  • DOWNLOAD IT
  • RESEARCH IT
  • About Us
  • Events
  • Services
  • Kids, Teens & Homeschool

 

Praise


“A novel that transforms narrator and reader alike.”
Kirkus Reviews (starred)

“…elegiac, evocative…. a resonant tale of fury, guilt, and redemption.”
Publishers Weekly

“…an extraordinary coming-of-age novel set in a rural Minnesotan town in the summer of 1961…Krueger has written a moving story, replete with authentic characters who grow in wisdom and grace and learn to accept what they cannot change.”
Shelf Awareness

“A thoughtful literary mystery that is wholly compelling and will appeal to fans of Dennis Lehane and Tom Franklin. . . Don’t take the title too literally, for Krueger has produced something that is anything but ordinary.”
BookPage

“One cannot read Ordinary Grace without feeling as if it is destined to be hailed as a classic work of literature. Ordinary Grace is one of those very rare books in which one regrets reaching its end, knowing that the experience of having read it for the first time will never be repeated. Krueger, who is incapable of writing badly, arguably has given us his masterpiece.”
—Bookreporter.com

“Sometimes a work of fiction just comes to you, sits in your soul, touches your life experiences and then is hard to remember as fiction. Ordinary Grace by William Kent Kruger is such a novel.”
Capital Journal (Pierre, SD)

“Not often does a story feel at once fresh and familiar. But Ordinary Grace, a new novel from William Kent Krueger, is both, and it is affecting.”
The Denver Post

“…the tone is much like To Kill a Mockingbird, with its combination of dread and nostalgia.”
Detroit News

“Everything about this book, from language to ideas to Aeschylus’s epigram is beautiful and you’ll think about it long after you’re finished reading.”
The Globe and Mail (Toronto)

“A perfect book club read, truly a book to love and read more than once. Absolutely recommended.”
—Historical Novel Society

“Once in a blue moon a book drops down on your desk that demands to be read. You pick it up and read the first page, and then the second, and you are hooked. Such a book is Ordinary Grace…This is a book that makes the reader feel better just by having been exposed to the delights of the story. It will stay with you for quite some time and you will always remember it with a smile.”
Huffington Post

“There’s such a quiet beauty in his prose and such depth to his characters that I was completely captivated by this book’s ordinary grace.”
Minneapolis Star-Tribune

“Ordinary Grace is engaging from the first page, a quiet novel that unfurls its sad story slowly, but eloquently, leaving its mark on your heart.”
The Missourian (Columbia, MO)

“A superb literary novel.”
New York Journal of Books

“Krueger’s elegy for innocence is a deeply memorable tale.”
Washington Post

“Besides being a terrific story that examines a powerful range of human experiences and emotions, it was the authentic voice of the teenage narrator, Frank Drum, that kept me reading late into the night. Though the tone is quiet, Krueger artfully layered the story with suspenseful examinations of family life, death, fury, spiritual fiber and redemption.”
—Beth Hoffman, New York Times bestselling author of Saving CeeCee Honeycutt

“A pitch-perfect, wonderfully evocative examination of violent loss. In Frank Drum’s journey away from the shores of childhood—a journey from which he can never return—we recognize the heartbreaking price of adulthood and its ‘wisdoms.’ I loved this book.”
—Dennis Lehane, New York Times bestselling author of Live by Night and The Given Day




Web banner for One Book, One Burg: Louisburg Reads 2022. It includes an image with the cover and title of the selected book, Ordinary Grace by William Kent Krueger.  The banner links back to the main One Book, One Burg webpage.Book cover of Ordinary Grace by William Kent Krueger.  It links to the library's online catalog.